Winds of change.

Life is ever changing, isn’t it? I walked out my front door this morning at 5:15 to meet my workout buddy, my jogging partner and one of my best friends. I’m so lucky. I’ve been so lucky since Summer and I met. Had I not landed down the street from my friend Summer I would probably never have run a marathon, or even wanted to. It was one of those things I always thought impossible for me. I never thought I’d be one of those people to get up at 5am on a daily basis, also something I thought was impossible for me. When I walked out the door this morning the sky was just amazing. Some mornings the stars are, kablam, in your face and so bright and gorgeous like you could reach out and touch them. Then I see the crescent moon just above the horizon with Venus. A breathtaking sight. It is a bittersweet sight. Bittersweet because my mornings will be somewhat different because Summer is moving, and I’ll probably be less inclined to get up at 5am in the morning and see these things. 

Luckily Summer is not moving far away, about a 15 minute car ride away. Though not as convenient as three houses down, we’ll still run together. I do wonder, though, where will my running go? Will I run as much? Will I get the miles in? Will I take a break? Will I hit the snooze button like I would so often do in the past?

Before Summer and I embarked on our marathon training in 2012 I ran with another group of awesome women from my local YMCA. We spent so many Saturday mornings getting up early, running, training for races. It was a blast and I miss that group of ladies too. With them I learned I could really run long distance. I trained on my own to get to my first 10 mile race, but training with them for the 5 half marathons we ran that year became much more fun.  I think you create a bond like no other when you run with someone. It’s hard to explain, but there is just something really awesome about the running community. When you spend time on the pavement with people, magic happens. Everyone I’ve had the pleasure of running with occupies a special little place in my heart.

In true throwback Thursday form, here are some pictures that never would have happened had I not met the awesome people that I run with.

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 8.59.25 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 9.00.24 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 9.02.15 PM

IMG_1173-2

IMG_1430-2

IMG_1007

IMG_1317

IMG_1319

IMG_0998

Screen shot 2011-07-11 at 6.14.32 PM

100_0615

IMG_7337

IMG_1589

IMG_4701

20130902-171232.jpg

 

Do you run with a group, or do you like to run alone? I do a little bit of both. Sometimes I need the solidarity of a run by myself, but I’ve achieved greater things and had way more fun running with a group.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winds of change.

  1. leerunsdistances says:

    Nice post! Nothing like have a running buddy just a few doors down the street or even 15 minutes away. That is something that would be nice to have but I hqave no friends who are runners so I have been a lone wolf for the better part of 6 years or so now with an occasional run with someone else.

  2. Gretchen Wallace says:

    you are awesome and I Love you. You have helped me grow as a person more in this past year than you will ever know. I need to get back into a group. I miss it terribly.

Leave a Reply

